84th Geneva International Motor Show

fr  |   de  |   en
Menu
« Retour

1971

Lamborghini LP500 Prototype


At the time of the Geneva's International motorshow in March 1971, Lamborghini presents a concept car named “LP500”. A mass production of the car was not considered, but the concept likes, so that Lamborghini decides to carry out and release a model resembling to it. However, many details are modified. The 5 liters V12 engine of the prototype LP500 became in 1974, with the LP400, a 4 liters which was going nevertheless to become famous. The name LP means “Longitudionale Posteriore" in reference to the position of the engine.

The name "Countach" comes from an expression of the regional dialect of Emilie-Romagna (It). It marks the expression of astonishment and admiration which would have said by a local farmer, by seeing the car, put on road for the first time.

The car was produced from 1974 to 1978 as Lamborghini Countach LP400. It has a 3.929 cc V12 engine which develops 375 hp. The engine is inserted axially, contrary to the Miura. The gearbox with five speeds was moved in front of the engine, and from there the input shaft crosses the sump to reach the tail rotor drive. Contrary to the monoshell of the Miura, the Countach had a lattice framework, but the body was always signed by Bertone.

84e Salon International de l'Auto et accessoires

fr  |   de  |   en
Menu
« Retour

1971

Lamborghini LP500 Prototype


Lors du Salon international de l'automobile de Genève en mars 1971, Lamborghini présente une étude conceptuelle nommée « LP500 ». Une fabrication en série du véhicule n'était pas envisagée, mais l'étude plaît, si bien que Lamborghini se décide à réaliser et commercialiser un modèle lui ressemblant. Toutefois, de nombreux détails sont modifiés. Le V12 de 5 litres du prototype LP500 est devenu en 1974, avec la LP400, un 4 litres qui allait néanmoins devenir célèbre. Le nom LP signifie « Longitudionale Posteriore » en référence à la position du moteur.

Le nom Countach provient d'une expression du dialecte régional d'Émilie-Romagne. Il marque l'expression d'étonnement et d'admiration qu'aurait lâchée un agriculteur local, à la vue de la voiture, sortie sur route pour la première fois.

Le véhicule a été produit de 1974 à 1978 comme Lamborghini Countach LP400. Il dispose d'un moteur V12 de 3 929 cm3 qui développe 375 ch. Le moteur est inséré axialement, contrairement à la Miura. La boîte de vitesses à cinq rapports s'est retrouvée devant le moteur, et de là l'arbre primaire traverse le carter d'huile pour atteindre la transmission arrière. Contrairement au monocoque de la Miura, la Countach avait un cadre treillis, mais la carrosserie était toujours signée Bertone.